DSCF4863

A couple of months ago I was speaking to a mom from my son’s school about the Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron.  She’s a writer and was feeling stuck and had recently heard about the book.  If you are not familiar with the Artist’s Way, it is spiritual journey to help you unlock the creativity in you or to help brake down the barriers that are keeping you from being creative.  I love the book.  I started the spiritual journey a couple years ago and then stopped.  I think I stopped because I was going from being a stay-at-home mom to a career outside of the home.  The book helped me breakthrough many of the barriers in my life and where I developed the courage to; start a career outside of the home, leave my husband and find me.  Why I stopped midway through the book I cannot tell you.  So, when she mentioned having an interest in the book to help her get unstuck I told her it was a great idea.  In fact, it had me reflecting on the fact that I haven’t picked up my camera since going back to work.  I was stuck, again.  She asked if I was interested in starting a group and I said yes.  The journey began.

DSCF4868

Doing the book this time had it’s own challenges. My schedule was a bit crazier than it was the first time so found it difficult to find time to write my morning pages and do the exercises.  I realized this was the first of obstacles I had to challenge in order to unlock my creativity.  I was watching another woman in my group blossom.  She really took to the book and started carrying her camera with her everywhere.  She was an inspiration to me.

DSCF4905

I then found this quote that also inspired me; To strive even higher, to do even better—the creative process is a desperate struggle to go beyond what we were yesterday. It is a battle against resting on our laurels, against the fear of losing what we have. It is an adventure into unknown territory.” -Daisaku Ikeda  I realized that my fears and the unknown were holding me back and decided I wanted to win over this so I decided it was time to take out my camera.

DSCF4898

My family and I were heading to a local island for the weekend and decided it was time to take my camera.  It wasn’t easy.  The voices in my head were filled with negative chatter hoping I would listen.  I didn’t.  I took photo’s. It was uncomfortable and had me feeling uneasy but I did it.

DSCF4900

I put my camera away after the weekend away waiting for the mood to strike me again.  Then I read this quote by Julia Cameron; “Being in the mood to write, like being in the mood to make love, is a luxury that isn’t necessary in a long-term relationship. Just as the first caress can lead to a change of heart, the first sentence, however tentative and awkward, can lead to a desire to go just a little further.” I now take my camera with me almost everywhere I go.  Instead of waiting to be in the mood to take photos I now have the ability to shoot the moment I see something that captures my interest.  Funny, I’ve discovered many moments where I am happy I have my camera with me.

DSCF4909

 

 

 

 

 

