2013-05-14 18.13.02

This is my year to dream and to realize my dreams.  There was a time in my life that I quit dreaming.  I honestly cannot tell you why.  I’ve always been a bit envious when I hear people talking about their dreams and then go home to wonder what mine are.  They are tucked so deeply in me I wondered how I could pull them out.

2013-05-23 07.24.11

I was chatting with a friend the other day and she asked me what my goals are for this year.  I shared some things and then shared about my wanting to go back to school.  I mentioned photography and I mentioned a sustainable business program.  She commented how my face lit up when I discussed photography and yet when I mentioned photography to her it was like I had a rock in my stomach.  I realized, then, how much I loved photography and yet how scared I was to pursue it.  Deep down it is the fear of failure, of not being good enough.  The fear consumes me so much that I run away.  I take the easy road instead of challenging myself to pursue it.

2013-11-24 07.04.31

I attended my SGI buddhist meeting on Saturday and we discussed faith and challenging ourselves. I mentioned that I believed in others when they set a goal and accomplished it yet I didn’t have the same faith in me, until recently.  As I looked at this past year I realized how many of the goals I set I accomplished.  It was a difficult year and yet I accomplished so much.  These were personal goals so not something easily seen by others and yet I had a few friends comment on how much I’ve changed.  It was at this moment that I knew I could tackle the most difficult goal, believing in me.  A blog I read recently really inspired me.  It was talking about creativity and taking action.   Life and creativity doesn’t just happen, we must take action.  Take those steps that keep us moving forward.  If we just sit and wait, creativity and life will just pass us by.

2013-11-18 14.58.08

This is my year of tackling my vulnerability by taking action.  I’m going to Choose the Mountain.

~I Choose the Mountain~

The low lands call
I am tempted to answer
They are offering me a free dwelling
Without having to conquer

The massive mountain makes its move
Beckoning me to ascend
A much more difficult path
To get up the slippery bend

I cannot choose both
I have a choice to make
I must be wise
This will determine my fate

I choose, I choose the mountain
With all its stress and strain
Because only by climbing
Can I rise above the plane

I choose the mountain
And I will never stop climbing
I choose the mountain
And I shall forever be ascending

I choose the mountain

howard simon

 

 

2 Responses to “I choose the mountain…”

  1. Otto von Münchow

    I believe you have what it takes to climb the mountain. It’s not always easy to believe in oneself but then the easy road is never the most interesting to take. Keep challenging yourself – you will do just fine. Wonderful pictures in this post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

