Today was family adventure day.   My idea was to head north and visit the towns of Bow and Mt. Vernon when in reality the towns I had in my mind were Edison (the town adjacent to Bow) and La Connor (a tourist town on the water).  We soon realized Edison was the town we wanted to visit when we drove through Bow and there was nothing but a stop sign.

The only research I did was to stumble across this charming bakery cafe, Rosabella Garden.  I had a plan that we’d stop by this cafe and enjoy a wonderful lunch while picnicking outside taking in the sunshine and their 50 acres.  I thought this would be a wonderful way for the kids to start the adventure.  I couldn’t have been more wrong.

The place was far from charming.  As my husband commented, ” it seems like a place right out of the movies”.  The hosts were curt, they followed us around in fear of the kids causing damage, in fact they were stalking us.  It wasn’t until I hustled the kids outside that I noticed the signs.  So many signs with “no….”.  There were over 10 signs that basically said “you are not welcome here, go away”.

So, what do you think happened while I was outside with the kids?  They climbed and touched every item that had a “do not touch” sign on it.  UGH!  They were everywhere.  At one time my husband came out and said “you really need to keep the children off of the things”.  I later found out the mean people inside told him to say something to me.  After my husband ate his mediocre pie he mentioned wanting to take the kids over to the garden for a peak.  “Um, you can’t do that” I said.  He didn’t see the “no trespassing” sign in front of the garden and then figured they wouldn’t do anything anyhow.  WRONG, they came out and told him to get away and then proceeded to hover over us until we left.

This whole event seemed so surreal and I would a bit more irritated about it if it hadn’t been for the YELP reviews here.  Looks like our experience is pretty common for this place and all I can say is thank goodness I didn’t have to use the restroom.

So, I have to admit, I did take a photo of the inside of this place.  OOOPS

And, my favorite sign is this one.  I find it funny because there is no reason that anyone would park here unless they were going to this cafe.  This is smack in the middle of farm land.

So, if you find yourself wanting to visit this place remember to; leave your pets at home, do not touch anything, bring a bottle in case you have to pee and most of all don’t look like you are enjoying yourself.  Frowns are welcome here.

 

 

 

 

